Monday was the first day of Gretchen’s spring break, so rather than go straight to work I stayed home for an extra hour and we walked the dogs together this morning. It had been raining all night and the ground was wet so we went up to a tennis court near our house and let Ben and Weez run around a little. Ben sprinted around haphazardly and jumped in puddles while Weezy checked the fence for possible escape routes.

It’s funny how something small like that can make such a difference in your work day. Just an hour out of your regular schedule can have a significant effect on your attitude and your effectiveness for the rest of the day. When I did sit down at my desk I felt rested and relaxed, unlike my usual Monday-morning-blahs. And not only are little detours like that good for me, they also have a refreshing effect on my relationship with Gretchen. The spontaneity makes the time together feel special, and I get to remind Gretchen that she’s more important than my schedule.

If you’re feeling stale in the office or your relationship with your spouse could use a pick-me-up, I highly recommend spending a spontaneous hour of quality time together. Take a walk, go for a drive, or read a book together. A little sacrifice in your schedule can go a long way.

